Domain Names

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sneezing

Even Bears do it!
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a 4th year student who will be applying to psychiatry.:thumbup: I'm contemplating the purchase of a domain name for a future psychiatry practice. I am looking at some prospects that include the word psychiatrist or pyschiatry under a .us, since most in .com are taken. The interesting thing is that .us doesn't allow a person to hide their info on the registry. In other words, my address, email, etc. will be listed and available to any one at the click of a mouse. .com registries can still be hidden to protect one's identity.

Would you feel comfortable having your contact info linked to 'psychiatry' in this era of scientologists recognizing the ease of a simple google search? It would only be for a few years until I could establish an LLC as a PGY4 that I would then transfer the ownership to.

Or should I only purchase a less desired .com for the privacy factor? Is it even possible in our technological era to even preserve your personal home contact information? Or should I give up now and embrace the openess of the world wide web?

In general what are your thoughts for a private practice domain name? Stick with the good old fashioned www.DrYourName.com or something else?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'm currently a 4th year student who will be applying to psychiatry.:thumbup: I'm contemplating the purchase of a domain name for a future psychiatry practice. I am looking at some prospects that include the word psychiatrist or pyschiatry under a .us, since most in .com are taken. The interesting thing is that .us doesn't allow a person to hide their info on the registry. In other words, my address, email, etc. will be listed and available to any one at the click of a mouse. .com registries can still be hidden to protect one's identity.