Should I try to apply stateside a third time? or should I apply to the big4

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mr. Nevergiveup

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Applied to about 15 DO schools, and was lucky to get on the waitlist of 1 school, but I don't know if getting a waitlist was due to interviewing with them pretty late (Febuary, secondary submitted in January)
for reference, I'm pushing 30, and don't want to waste a whole other year of my life for a third cycle if no one state-side accepts me

quick rundown of my stats:

501 mcat (2nd attempt)

2.9 uGPA but with a 3.6 graduate GPA,

1300 hours of research with 1 research pub

100-150 hours of community service (soup kitchen)

500 unpaid non-profit volunteer

700 hours of science-based work (nutrition)

100 hours of paid scribe position during undergrad

Ive been working at a non-STEM job for 2 years

Members don't see this ad.

MY ugpa is kinda low, and my mcat was a 501
I DID a lot of repairs, (1 year smp, 2 year Masters) although mostly not medically related my ECs are fair, last cycle I was able to interview with them, I didn't really click with the 2 interviewers, but my second time, I spent a lot of time preparing, clicked with the interviewer and that eventually got me a WL,
tbh I was kinda surprised I even received an II for this school, I did everything super late both times I applied to that school,
I didn't submit my 2ndaries til November and didn't have my interview until late march.
would reapplying but submitting everything early give me greater chances of getting Accepted, or am I just as likely to be waitlisted again and possibly not accepted due to my grades/scores?

Members don't see this ad :)
You need a lot more clinical and volunteer hours to be able to build an application. Why are you working a non-clinical job for 2 years?