Does it matter what University you recieve your Undergraduate degree from?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hautecouture

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does it matter what university you go to for your undergraduate degree, if you are looking to become an optometrist? I am a very capable student and could attend whichever college I aspire, however my parents are not allowing me. :( I am basically given two choices of regionally accredited universities close to my hometown. They were ranked in tier 3 and 4 by America's Best Colleges magazine and website. However, I've searched optometry colleges and they seem to accept only high end universities. What should I do? Would I be fine if I attend one of the universities close to my home and excel in my grades and acheive a high OAT score?

Thank you in advance! :)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
This is a very good question. Personally, I think you should attend an average university rather than one of the best. You are more likely to achieve higher grades at a less prestigious university. From my knowledge, the optometry schools don't care where you went. They mostly focus on your gpa, OAT and extracurricular activities. They want to put out the best stats to compare to other schools. However, one admission director told me that my low gpa (3.33) was considered higher because I went to a good undergrad. In hindsight, I wish I went to a less prestigious university. I probably would have achieved higher grades and saved money. Others may disagree, but that is my advice lol