Advice Needed for Undergraduate Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

S.W.Q.Q

Reaction score
Hello Forum!

I am an incoming third year undergraduate student looking for some advice. I have just decided that I want to go into optometry, as it's practices and values are both things I really admire. Not to mention, I've been talking on and off with my optometrist lately and that has really helped put things into perspective.

The problem is, then, that I don't really know where to start. I may be able to take my OAT by next summer, but is that advisable if I don't decide to apply until the year after? Also, I have some hours as a hospital volunteer, and I have a pharmacy technician license, but are my hours as a pharm tech useless if I choose to go down the Pre-Opt path? I may also be doing research this year (I'm waiting for a confirmation), so would the above all suffice for extracurriculars? I'm not sure if I can get a job or shadowing hours in an optometry office as there are not many optometry positions open near my school.

If anything, would it be advisable for me to take a gap year to work in an optometry office, or is it still possible for me to enter an optometry school traditionally without the gap year?

Thank you all so much in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Welcome to the pre-optometry life!

We can start off with the situation of you entering optometry school without taking a gap, meaning you go straight from senior year of undergraduate, right into optometry school.