Does anyone want to...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Elysium

Not Really An Old Beaver
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Tell their story?

I've been reading these boards for some time now and I'd like to now a little bit more about you guys.

I'll start: I'm a 29 year old SWF. I was born in Galveston, TX and grew up in a suburb of Houston. I went to college at Boston University and majored in film production. After I graduated I worked on feature films in Boston, including "Good Will Hunting", "Amistad", and "A Civil Action". I did locations on the movies, which is basically what it sounds like. I helped scout the locations and then worked as a liason during production. I worked with a lot of people you guys might know, and most of them are fairly horrific. But that's a whole other conversation.
Anyway, my dad is an internist so I grew up around medicine. As I became disillusioned with film I realized that what I truly loved doing was working with people in a more positive, constructive manner. Specifically, I was able to watch my friend give birth to her daughter and I really fell in love with medicine in a shy and profound way. I then went back to school to complete all those irksome pre-reqs that you science majors do so well in (naturally!) so that I could apply to med school. While I was in school I worked as a clinical assistant at Planned Parenthood for a year and currently work as a medical assistant at a internist's office. I've interviewed at a couple of MD schools in TX and I'm waiting (hopefully) for DO interviews (my application was recently completed...finally...after a major snafu from my post-bacc school sending my letters...but I digress). I want to be an OB-Gyn, eventually. Maybe reproductive endocrinology (fertility medicine) but I'm not sure. I'm sure as hell not getting any younger.