Do US residents give their own didactic conferences?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jeff509

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, allow me to elaborate, I am a medical student from Mexico, here, many residency programs cover their teaching curriculum (established by a medical school) with resident prepared lectures. Residents prepare almost all of the teaching conferences, and senior clinicians (faculty) are rarely present nor are available as advisors. My question is: Do US residents give their own didatic lectures during residency? Are those exclusively prepared by faculty? In which cases do residents give talks/teach?

I want to compare both approaches.
PS: If my thread isn't pertinent to this forum, please redirect me to the section in which it would be adequate. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, allow me to elaborate, I am a medical student from Mexico, here, many residency programs cover their teaching curriculum (established by a medical school) with resident prepared lectures. Residents prepare almost all of the teaching conferences, and senior clinicians (faculty) are rarely present nor are available as advisors. My question is: Do US residents give their own didatic lectures during residency? Are those exclusively prepared by faculty? In which cases do residents give talks/teach?

I want to compare both approaches.
PS: If my thread isn't pertinent to this forum, please redirect me to the section in which it would be adequate. Thank you.
Variable from program to program. Our residents would present a good proportion of the conferences (morning reports, M+Ms, journal clubs etc), but not usually the formal subject-specific didactics. Even when it was a resident talk, there would typically be faculty available for backup.

In fellowship, we do some of both. Some faculty lectures, some fellow-prepared talks.