DO Student Applying Ortho vs. PM&R with Average Step Score

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

peaches34

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm a 3rd year DO student in the US. I'm stuck about what to do because I came into med school knowing that I wanted ortho after working as an ortho scribe for 2 years, but my stats are not competitive enough (Step 1 mid 230s, Level 1 510s, 1 ortho case report + 2 poster presentations, and so far 1 general LOR).

Another field that has been in the back of my mind is PM&R, which I scribed in for 8 months before school. I can see myself being happy in PM&R since it still has the MSK and procedures that I like with a predictable patient load in outpatient and would give me more opportunity to do OMM.

My questions:
  • Should I still apply for a fall full of ortho Sub I's like I initially planned or is this not realistic for me at this point?
  • If I decide to apply for PM&R instead, would it be frowned upon that I had no PM&R experiences prior to 4th year except my scribing experience?
Any advice or insight would be appreciated, especially from anyone who has applied ortho with lower scores. I know ortho would be a stretch for me, especially as a DO student, but just want to know if there's still any hope or if I should go all out with PM&R.

Members don't see this ad.

Are you trolling me or is this a super weird coincidence with our names?

Im also debating Ortho vs PMR lmaooo.

Reactions: 1 users
Pick one and go full throttle. Audition rotations for ortho are paramount. Find DO friendly programs. Good luck.

• Dislike
Members don't see this ad :)
Any DO considering ortho should read through