This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Do PsyD grades matter when applying for (APA) internship?

• Total voters

FirstYearPsyD

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a first year PsyD student trying to get the lay of the land regarding grades. I keep hearing from countless faculty members and alumni that "grades don't matter" in grad school, but I have also heard they are part of the "point system" for APA internship applications.

My goal is to obtain an APA internship, so how much will my grades matter? All I can find on here is comparisons, so I understand grades don't count anywhere as much as the clinical experience I gain through practicums and additional clinical experiences, but how much do they matter?

Obviously I don't plan on letting myself fail any classes, but if I get a B instead of an A average, (how) does that hurt my chances of securing an internship? In other words, if I secured all the other things on the internship application (great clinical hours/placements, essays, and recommendations...), would having an A rather than a B average help me or can I really trust that grades don't matter as long as they're in the A or B range?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a PsyD student about to start an APA accredited internship in the summer. My GPA is 3.94.