Do I need to tell my program director if I am getting LASIK

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jellygreen2001

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I am a junior radiology resident. I am planning on LASIKs done on both of my eyes in the next couple of months. Do I have to tell my program director/ask permission before I get this done. Is getting LASIK done frowned upon by radiologists and there any reasons why I shouldn't get done.

thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone,
I am a junior radiology resident. I am planning on LASIKs done on both of my eyes in the next couple of months. Do I have to tell my program director/ask permission before I get this done. Is getting LASIK done frowned upon by radiologists and there any reasons why I shouldn't get done.

thanks

Umm...yes??

I'm not some anti-LASIK crusader. In fact, I've had LASIK myself, and I can say that it was one of the best decisions of my life, but only because things worked out. I can say that because I'm 10 years out from the procedure, have had no complications, and still have 20/15 vision.

I also had the procedure when I was a single, pre-clinical medical student with no children and long before I had decided upon radiology as a career. Chances are that everything will go fine for you, but remember that a good outcome =/= a good decision. I look back on my decision as reckless and short-sighted (pun intended).