do I need extracurriculars and research?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

riva128zx

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a general dentist in private practice. I can't believe I'm doing this but I want to try out my med school ( US and allopathic ) dreams just once more. I've been thru dental school, did a residency, and took many continuing education courses in dentistry. I treated medically compromised and developmentally disabled patients.

My gpa is very low. If anything, I wouldn't get accepted on the basis of my gpa trend.

I'm putting my acceptance hopes on my DDS degree and a high MCAT score. The MCAT looks so much easier to me now than it was 10 yrs ago.

I have nothing in the way of extracurriculars and research. Do I still need these? If so, how should I do it? I've been out of school for a while and I don't know what to do.

Members don't see this ad.

Personally, I think you are crazy since being a dentist isn't that different from being a doctor...both treat medically important pathology and improve people's health.

I have no idea how med schools will look upon an application from a practicing dentist, though, assuming you get a high MCAT score. I would think you would need less in the way of extracurricular activities, but might need to spend some time in a hospital volunteering nevertheless.

You'll need a really compelling reason/story as to why you are ditching a good career in a related field to go back and get your MD.

This may seem crazy, but schools will care more about your UG grades than your dental school work.

What do you mean by very low?

Members don't see this ad :)
This may seem crazy, but schools will care more about your UG grades than your dental school work.

I already know that undergrad grades are more important.