DO Chances/Advice Please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DPManeen

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey,

I am graduating from college next week:
3.6 cum
3.4 science (a few courses from comm college before I knew I was going to go pre-med)
MCAT: my road block, 23...taking it again in July
I am a certified athletic trainer who will have some work experience w/ NCAA DI football, NFL, and NBA upon starting medical school

Resume is pretty stout, but a lot based on athletic training successes

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Looks good, but this is definitely contingent on the improved MCAT. Aim for preferably 27-28+. What are you doing to prepare? For me, improving 5 points was a matter of being nose deep in EK Verbal for a few months. Also, how are your clinical ECs? Looks like you have some good non-clinical experience with the athletic training. Best of luck to you.

Any clinical experience/shadowing? Get these... and maybe your athletic training will make up for your other lacking ECs, assuming you have a lot of hours racked up doing it.

Members don't see this ad :)
Yes I have shadowed numerous physicians, including the Deputy Executive Commissioner for the Health and Human Services Commission for Texas and even got to go to both the Texas State and US House of Representatives to play an integral role in passing of Senate Bill 2038 that completely revamps concussion assessments in high school athletes. Volunteered a bunch in numerous fashion, simply this stupid MCAT.

NeuroLAX- I took the TPR course and what not, I guess I just was not focusing. I plan on reading all of my material from that course and then practicing and practicing

Hey,

I am graduating from college next week:
3.6 cum
3.4 science (a few courses from comm college before I knew I was going to go pre-med)
MCAT: my road block, 23...taking it again in July