Do Canadian programs consider U.S Electives?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Blitz2006

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Planning on doing my IM/GSurg electives in the U.S (4 months, 2 months IM, 2 months GSurg).

Anyways, as IMG from UK, looking at applying to NRMP in the U.S next year for IM/GSurg match.

However, I am also a Canadian citizen, so CaRMs does run through my mind sometimes.

Can I apply to Ontario programs with U.S LORs/elective experience? Or will Canadian PDs toss my app in the bin?

Will EE be enough? Cause Knight_MD in another thread mentionned that for FM, MCCEE + MCCQE1 are required. I'll only have EE done by application deadline.

Plus I'll be applying to GSurg/IM...which I assume is more competitive than FM in Ontario....

I did my BSc in Canada with 3 summers of undergrad research and have a summer of research at Univ. of TO while in 1st year meds, so I do have some Canadian background. But yeh, my recent stuff (electives, LORs) will all be American.

Cheers,

Members don't see this ad.

If you are a Canadian IMG interested in getting into a surgical residency program in Canada, doing several electives in the US in your chosen surgical specialty will likely do nothing to enhance your application. Your chances of getting into a surgical residency program in Canada are already fairly slim, and one of the few ways you can improve your chances are to do an elective (a) in your chosen specialty and most importantly (b) at the centre or centres where you hope to get a residency position.

Hey Sop,

Thx for your 2 cents. I agree and understand that the odds are stacked against me for Gen Surg. Thats why I'm realistically gunning for the U.S (which is no cakewalk either for IMGs, but relatively 'easier')

What about Internal Meds, is that more realistic?

I'm using the carms site for all the stats: https://w1c.e-carms.ca/pdws/jsp/pd.do?p=p1&m=1