Dismissed and kind of lost

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HerbaceousHerb

Reaction score
kind of a venting post. I got dismissed from PT school in my first term. I am devastated. Our school starts in the summer term with anatomy being the reason why I got dismissed. I got F in both lab and lecture and one F is automatic dismissal. The worst part is I do not even have an excuse. I did my best and it was just not good enough. I studied all the time, I went to office hours to help, and I tried out my professors suggestions for studying. I just don’t think 5 weeks was enough time for me to save my grade I guess. I do not know what to do anymore. I still want to do PT, but if I can’t even pass anatomy, what is the point? Feeling really discouraged, I want to try again but I am not confident that another school will take me considering my dismissal. I would appeal, but again I do not have an extraordinary circumstance that will make them take me back. I do not even know how to tell my professors that wrote me recommendations that I failed. If I were to do something else I am not sure what I would even do since I have been focused on PT for so long. Starting to regret my degree in kinesiology…

Members don't see this ad.

First, I very much feel your pain with having a kinesiology degree.

Anyways, I think it's always worth a try to appeal. Coming in with a plan on how you will make this time different may be your argument.
In terms of a different school, also worth a try. I vaguely remember seeing stories of people re-entering despite dismissal from another school. Just maybe be strategic if cost is an issue. I heard that newer schools are a lot more lax in terms of acceptance. The ones that just recently got accredited or ones working on getting credited. There's just the risk of it not being accredited.