Different Worlds...Need Advice..

PreDocWifey

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok...I feel a little foolish... :oops: but maybe someone else has felt the same way as I do and can give some advice, so here goes.

My husband is a pre-med bio student in his last semester, and I am working to support him through his undergrad and beyond. It’s been a little challenging at times, it feels like we live in two different worlds, which actually we do. He is a student, slightly older than the “student crowd” (he’s 24) but essentially everyone he is around on a daily basis is younger, and single. I guess you could say I am in the “real world” I’m 26 and the youngest person that works at my company. I try to relate to him, what he’s going through, after all I was a student too before, and he tries to relate to me, but lets face it when all you do is work 10-12 hours a day at an engineering firm you don’t really have anything interesting to say. What I’m getting at is he has many new friends in which he studies with and spends a great deal of time with at school. They are all younger and mostly female. He is a very outgoing and friendly person with everyone, and everyone is naturally drawn to him because he is such a fun guy. But I can’t help but feel a little left out and jealous of his “study buddies” I try to be supportive of him and his friends, I bring them food a t the library when they are studying late at night and whatnot, but I feel a little awkward as “the wife”. He tries to include me with them sometimes, arranging to meet all of his study buddies at a bar or something, but I feel like an outsider with nothing to contribute to the chummy conversations about their professors and funny class antidotes. Ultimately I feel a jealous of the girls he actually spends more time with than me because of our schedules. (It doesn’t help that they are usually younger than I and attractive). I know I have nothing to worry about, my husband is very loyal to me, but I c