Didnt Match Psych

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bulleface87

Reaction score
I am a 4th year medical student who happened to not get into psych. Applied very broadly 100+ programs. Only took level and level 2 score was mid 500s. No red flags on my app. I had 10+ interviews and did not match. This was not something I was expecting and was caught off guard. I have had many interviews in SOAP now for categorical IM. I personally am not a fan of the location of these programs and not a fan of the programs I interviewed at in general (many HCAs). I am not sure what to do. Should I accept any offer I receive tomorrow if I receive any that is. Or should I just dual apply next year to psych?

Members don't see this ad.

• Care
Reactions: 1 user
I am a 4th year medical student who happened to not get into psych. Applied very broadly 100+ programs. Only took level and level 2 score was mid 500s. No red flags on my app. I had 10+ interviews and did not match. This was not something I was expecting and was caught off guard. I have had many interviews in SOAP now for categorical IM. I personally am not a fan of the location of these programs and not a fan of the programs I interviewed at in general (many HCAs). I am not sure what to do. Should I accept any offer I receive tomorrow if I receive any that is. Or should I just dual apply next year to psych?
Why didn’t you take step? I’m assuming you got screened out at a lot of programs considering psych is becoming more competitive to match.

Do not not match. SOAP into a spot in IM. Get a job - much easier to transfer then to try to reapply

and who knows, maybe in the end it turned out for the better

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)