Desperately looking for externship/observership/rotation in psychiatry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shoenberg3

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I apologize in advance for having posted a somewhat similar thread around 10 days ago.

Advice requested for a FMG trying to match psychiatry

As mentioned previously in the above post, I am a foreign medical graduate with US citizenship who is hoping to match into psychiatry.

In the last week or so, I have been trying hard to find opportunities for ~ 8 weeks (in perhaps two separate rotations) of hands-on clinical experience in the US, whether in the form of externship/observership/rotation.

There is a program that I am awaiting upon that I hope to spend 4 weeks this summer, but, even if I manage to attend that program (still quite up in the air), I still would want another 4 weeks of rotation. Due to COVID and having graduated already (therefore clerkships not being an option), it has been exceedingly difficult to find and secure an opportunity. I contacted few programs such as UCSD as I understand that they have (used to?) programs, but have yet to receive a response from them. I have also looked into agencies such as AMO but they do not offer any opportunities on sites that are part of universities/residency programs, which Splik kindly noted to be an important consideration when looking into USCE.

As Splik also noted, my best and possibly only option may be to pursue a postdoc and get clinical exposure after establishing connections in the US. However, I am not ready (yet) to make the decision to add another 1-2 years to my already circuitous and lengthy journey thus far.