Depressive Episode

CookieDough1234

Reaction score
This is my first time browsing this thread. My situation of course pales in comparison to others…however I am having a bit of a depressive episode.

I’ve been dating someone from my class for the past year. It seemed like we were having a good year. We were “playing house” – I’d do the cooking, the cleaning, the sewing of holes in clothes. I was very happy doing these things. As things progressed we’d start talking about “future” oriented things... like our future dogs names, what our first dog together would be, what things would be like for us when we were older, how id react to a proposal, residencies, etc... Our friend had recently gotten engaged. He researched every single detail of her engagement ring....the name, maker, and everything and sent a picture of it to me. And I was thinking jeez I don’t even have the effort to find out the exact details of xyz’s ring. He would always say “I know I have it good.”

Before he left for summer break, I had more directly brought up, “Is a future for us something you’ve ever considered?” To which, like most guys, he reacted tongue tied. He said, “I enjoy what we have going on now, I’m not sure about the future.” Which is a totally acceptable answer. However he added, “I’m not sure if you’re the one for me.” I started crying after this, it filled me with a sense of inadequacy. I tried explaining how that could come off hurtful, especially to a female, he refused to see that. I told him to take time over break to reflect on what in his life he’d find most fulfilling.