*depressed* just switched services

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

raDiOnut

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm an EMT-b and just switched EMS services and wondering if anyone had a similar experience. I worked for the public service in my small rural county for just over 1yr, but finally decided that I didn't need to put up with all their bs. Last week mgmt gave us a memo stating that all diabetic patients were to be placed in the rigs and transport initiated PRIOR TO ANY Pt care! Talk about a lawsuit waiting to happen... My old service also required all emt-b's to state that an ALS assessment was done on all pts, whether or not a complete ALS assessment was done. The service had a lot more problems, mainly coming from mgmt.

SO, I wrote a letter of resignation, and within a day, had a job offer from the private service in the same county and a 36hr/wk schedule (what i wanted) for the next month. It's just rough because my new service is the arch-enemy of the public service and it's likely that many of my old medics/partners won't talk to me again. Sounds silly, but that's how it is out here...

just letting off some good old EMS steam...

raDiOnut

Members don't see this ad.

i moved around between 3 different services in town because of management problems, and always got flak from employees of the services I left

EMS - especially in smaller areas - is like one big dyfunctional family. There are always some family members who won't talk to other family members. People fight over silly things, spread rumors about each other, and complain about favoritism. Many members seem to be co-dependent or enabling others in their personal dysfunctions. Of course, there are the well-respected patriarchs/matriarchs who help bond the whole family together.

Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)