Dental Dental assistant interested in dentistry, but have a low GPA. Do I have a chance?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Staff member
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys :) so there’s many threads out there but maybe some new answers can come from this.

I graduated college with a 2.76 gpa in 2015 and in 2016 I started a dental assisting program and graduated with a 3.8 gpa in 2017 from the dental assisting program . Ever since, I worked at different dental offices and I’ve done general and pediatrics, where I’ve been dental assistant and front desk verifying insurances and everything front desk related. I definitely did not like assisting and maybe that’s due to my experiences with team mates and dentists so I am currently working for a hospital as an insurance verifier. Anyways, almost 5 years later I haven’t done a post bacc program because I work full time and coming form a single parent home it’s up to myself and mom to pay and survive. I am studying to the DAT and am scheduled to take it this year but I feel as if there’s no hope especially because my pre-reqs are a little outdated and low gpa and no post bacc to boost that gpa. Any advice or input?