This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

uhsikahtap

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
(Deleted)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'm a surgical resident and don't want to be one anymore - I'm going to switch to radiology. Already told PD, applied, etc.. My question is, can I switch DURING intern year to a different program? i.e. can I transition to a medicine intern year 6 months into my gen surg one? I want to go from my surgery intern year to an internal medicine one. Is that something that's even possible? I'd like to move closer to home while also learning more medicine rather than...well, being a note monkey and learning nothing at all before becoming a rads resident.

No. Your options are:

1. Quit
2. Finish the year and then move on.

Hopefully you will match somewhere in Radiology, because you'll need a spot in a year. No place will take you for six months prelim year or anything, so just remove that thought from your head. Even going to Radiology, you should put some effort into what you do. Yes, you will do a bunch of scut work as an intern, but it's not like you don't have chances to learn from those patients. Your attitude is a bit concerning here.

Reactions: 5 users
Is it possible? Yes. Theoretically, you can quit your GS position and take an IM position. You'd need to find an IM program with an opening, and you'd need to make sure that you don't have a gap of any significant length -- else you won't get 12 months of credit which you will need for Rads. Is this likely? Not really, but possible. It would be much easier if you stayed at your current institution. If it happens that your local IM program has an opening, you could switch with no gap, no new onboarding, etc.

As someone with an intern year already done, you should be applying for R positions in radiology. you can also apply for A positions, then you'd have a gap year.

Reactions: 3 users