Delete

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

systematicX

Reaction score
Deleted

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
  • Care
Reactions: 2 users
My first MCAT was a 501, when I averaged 515~520 in my practice tests, so I know how you feel at the moment. I attribute my failure to not taking the full-length tests in the testing conditions, and I honestly think the actual MCAT is harder than the AAMC FL tests. I studied much more content based the second time around and scored a 513, so focus more on the content than the questions of the FL tests. Since you aren't applying this cycle, you should probably aim to take it next January, and in the meantime, I would look for clinical or research experiences to fill your gap in.

Reactions: 3 users
Sorry this happened to you.

Most important thing--do NOT rush to retake. So many people "hurry up" to retake and wind up compounding a bad situation by getting another subpar score. I do agree that it is going to be too late to apply this year, pretty much regardless. So take the next couple of weeks to just grieve and don't make a plan (and become anchored to it) while you're still on tilt.

When to retake really depends on what you were planning to do this year and what your other plans are going to be.

• Love
Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
My MCAT score was released (scored a 504) today and I am so devastated. It was so off compared to the all the FLE’s I took (not retakes) which avg about a 515. I studied for 4 months straight. How can this be? How can it be so off! I’m not even sure what to do next. I obviously cannot apply this cycle! How long should I wait to retake? This feels so discouraging.

I am so sorry you went through that, I know how frustrating it is to make less than you have expected. However, take your time and for this week, just dedicate to the things you enjoy!