Debt in Med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

canjosh

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I'll try to keep this brief. I'll be starting med school in Texas in August, with a wife and two kids under age 5 in tow. I'm pretty non-traditional (30 yrs old), and my wife and I have been working full-time/living 'house-poor' for a several years. We've been making too much money to get subsidized money for my undergrad (25k in signature loans). In addition, we've got the usual family debts (cars/credit cards). The highest balance credit card will not get paid off within a decade...seriously. It probably won't get paid off till I'm an attending. Obviously, we're wondering how to make ends meet. Thankfully, my wife is a nurse, so she can get a job--but obviously she can't work all the time and leave me as a single parent in medical school.

Basically, I'm wondering what funding options are out there that take our other expenses into account. We don't even know where to start when it comes to renting a new place without knowing something about what our funding options are. Any thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

First and foremost, get rid of your CC debt. It will sink you like you won't believe.
You'll qualify for Stafford loans no problem in your situation plus Texas schools are very cheap, so you should be ok as far as loans for tuition and living expenses. But again, get rid of your CC debt. Honestly, there is no reason why 2 people with full time jobs should have CC debt in the first place. You might be able to get additional private loans (depending on your financial history) but you will have to buckle down. Your wife might not have a choice with staying home and you might need to get a cheap car with no payments. That's what I would do in your shoes.