CV building during MS3

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

URHere

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am returning to third year in a few days and I've been very conflicted over the idea of requesting time off for academic/career-building activities during clerkship time.

Although my school's official policy states that students can request 2 days off per year (which will be granted at the discretion of the clerkship director), I am wary of making waves or seeming as if I am requesting special treatment. While I could easily accept missing a conference or two, I have also worked closely with the deans of my university and I have been a student member of several administrative steering committees during my time in graduate school. I may have the chance to take on a more prominent role working with the university president and state senate in the next few months. Should I choose to take the position, I would need to request time off for senate meetings a few times a year.

My question is - would requests like these make waves with clerkship directors and faculty, which could ultimately impact my third year grades? If so, would the benefits potentially outweigh the risks when it comes to applying for residency and eventual faculty positions?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
tumblr_n32wezVes41tw1vhco1_500.gif

You have one job as an M3, kick ass on your clerkships. Asking for time off is a good way to ensure you don't do that. Nothing you can do in those 2 days will make an impact greater than you'll lose by potentially missing out on honors. Residency programs are looking to hire people to be physicians, not administrators. You'll have plenty of time to keep building your CV later.

Members don't see this ad :)