Currently in the navy, help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Poseidon0216

Reaction score
I am an officer in the navy currently and I am leaning towards going to med school after my commitment is up. I have a bachelors in biology focused in animal sciences because I did my bachelors to apply to vet school originally but here I am. I practically have all the pre reqs done, and if I dont its something I can knock out easily but with a family i would like to go to med school the HSCP route and continue to get paid by the military.

My question is does anyone have any experience with programs about applying for the HSCP while still in the navy as an officer? Do i have to finish my commitment currently (I am a pilot) before applying?

Members don't see this ad.

Why do you want to do HSCP? If you have no issue with the longer commitment, USUHS will pay you save pay. Youll take a big hit in pay going HSCP. You’d be paid as like an E-7. They also limit seats for officers as it is primarily meant for civilian accessions. And you have to pay tuition. They just pay you as active duty.

Why do you want to do HSCP? If you have no issue with the longer commitment, USUHS will pay you save pay. Youll take a big hit in pay going HSCP. You’d be paid as like an E-7. They also limit seats for officers as it is primarily meant for civilian accessions. And you have to pay tuition. They just pay you as active duty.
I got my acronyms mixed up thats exactly what I meant the USUHS. Do you know of any programs already in the navy for easy transferring?

Members don't see this ad :)
I got my acronyms mixed up thats exactly what I meant the USUHS. Do you know of any programs already in the navy for easy transferring?

That's a pretty big mix up, you sure you've done your homework?! Why not veterinary school?

We all practice veterinary medicine anyway . . .some of us are just more honest about it.

• Haha