Navy Current Navy Flight Surgeon- Stay or Go?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

obgflightdoc

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
BLUF: Stay Navy? Lat Transfer to USAF? Go Civilian? If civilian, Reserves (which reserves?)?

Background: I'm a Navy Flight Surgeon, currently deployed on the USS Reagan and my HPSP commitment is up JUL2021. I completed an OBGYN PGY-1 at NMCSD and was offered a residency spot but declined so that I could pursue operational medicine. My wife is an Air Force Osprey pilot and was are currently both stationed in Japan, although unaccompanied, at bases 8 hours apart. I still want to be an OBGYN but the DHA is currently slashing Navy OBGYN GME spots in unpredictable ways (Walter Reed was removed from the list altogether, unexpectedly, this year).

I am faced with three choices:
1. Stay Navy. Go to navy OBGYN GME (if they still have spots). Pros: I don't have to repeat internship. I feel confident in getting a spot (if available) as I left on good terms and am still very much involved in the Navy OBGYN community. If I stay active duty my wife and I can still request colocation even though it's far from guaranteed. 12 weeks paid maternity leave, even during residency. Cons: Guaranteed separation during residency (no Air Force bases near SD or Portsmouth). Likely separation for 3 more years additional obligation after. OBGYN billets are being slashed and job satisfaction is down.

2. Lateral transfer to the Air Force as a FS. Complete another FS tour. Apply for Air Force OBGYN GME (challenging?). Pros: Better chance of being colocated/join spouse as we will both be Air Force. Maternity leave. Cons: Another FS tour (I don't like primary care and I feel like I'm getting dumber by the day), no guarantee of OBGYN GME and would have to repeat internship