Current Firefighter and EMT and aspiring EMS Physician with some questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KD1655

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a firefighter, EMT, rescue technician, etc. in New Jersey and have about 7 years of experience in emergency services (since I was 17). Since freshman year of college, it has been my sole desire to attend medical school, complete an EM residency and EMS fellowship and then be medical director for an urban fire department. As a EMT, I have worked in a variety of different settings (volunteer campus EMT to full-time EMT for local police department to pay for college to paid EMT in busy urban system again to pay for college). All this work left me little time to study for the MCAT and I have not taken it but am scheduled to on April 23. I completed my undergraduate degree in biomedical engineering from NJ Institute of Technology last May and graduated with a bunch of different honors. My AMCAS cumulative undergraduate GPA is around 3.65 and my BCMP GPA is around 3.45 (thanks to a mediocre freshman year before graduating). I am finishing up my Masters degree in Materials Science and Engineering also at NJIT with a 4.00 GPA. For the past two years, I have led a research group investigating traumatic brain injury caused by explosion concussion using electrical impedance spectroscopy and mouse models. In addition to this research focus, I am very interested in resuscitation research and reperfusion injury; there is no doubt in my mind that my research focus is based upon my EMS experience. In order to continue my research, I have enrolled in the PhD program but my colleagues and the PI knows that I will be applying to medical school for Fall 2011. I have a few published poster abstracts already and should have at least one first author paper published within the next month. I have always wanted to be a physician but I have grown quite fond of r