Critique my roadmap to a competitive residency as an IMG

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

demiurg

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, long time lurker first time poster here!

I am a medical student from Turkey and I want to continue with my medical education in the US, including residency and fellowships.

The system here is 6 years - 3 years preclinical, 2 years clinical and 1 year internship. I'm in my second year. I have created a roadmap for obtaining my residency spot. My main interests are neurosurgery, psychiatry, heme&onc (either normal or pediatric) and ob/gyn. I know that these range from extremely competitive options to very easy ones, but I don't care about competitiveness, I care about what interests me. And for that I want to be as competitive as possible. Here's my roadmap

Year 1: Past. Did a nuclear medicine internship for a month in Croatia. Not much besides that.

Year 2: Did a crapton of research. Will be published in at least 6 studies (mixed topics: 2 microbiology, 1 ID, 1 endocrinology, 1 neurosurgery, 1 rheumatology). A moderately competitive GPA (just above 3.5). I will be doing genetics research internship at a top tier medical university in the US this summer (possibly get a publication there as well). I will try to make as many connections as possible in the topics I'm interested in and try to work overtime and volunteer for extra stuff.

Year 3: Continue with an intense research schedule, maintain my GPA, do another year of research in the US, probably in the topic I'm interested in doing my residency in. Possibly study for Step 1 and take it this year.

Year 4: This is a very difficult year, probably the most (IM, surgery and paediatrics clerkships). Take step 2 CK this year. Continue with research if possible. Possibly lay summer off.