Crappy GPA, and I couldn't hack the MCAT either... is this hopeless?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jess84

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I have a craptastic undergrad GPA(around 2.5), so I really put a lot of pressure on myself to do well on the MCAT. I studied like the devil was coming after me, day in and day out, for 7 months straight. I had an average AAMC CBT score of 32. I never scored below a 10 in any section on any practice test.

Then I got my scores back, and I got a 26T. I thought it was some kind of sick joke: 8 phy, 8 verbal, 10 bio. How I managed to score in the 99th percentile in the WS when I never wrote out a practice essay is beyond my comprehension.

Now I'm waitlisted for the BUMAMS program(but I won't get in this late), looking at another 5 months of MCAT studying, and seriously wondering what the hell I'm doing. I know everyone says not to give up on your dream, but at this point, I have to wonder if I'm just being silly and unrealistic. I'm almost 30 and I feel like such a ******* for sticking with it. I want to be a doctor more than anything, but I know some people just won't get into med school no matter how hard they try. Maybe I'm one of those people.

Can anyone give me some honest opinions? No need for any sugarcoating-- I get enough of that from my well-meaning friends in real life. I think I just need people to be honest with me, and where to draw the line between persistence and sheer stupidity. Thanks.