cpap, bipap, vent stuff

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shortbread9

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, im a clueless intern that has not done my icu months...i was wondering if any of you smarty pants can help me understand what the differences between cpap and bipap and the settings. im a bit crunched for time these days and havent had much time to read...let alone have time to get taught on my current medicine rotation.
any help would be appreciated.
thanks

Members don't see this ad.

ooo...can i get the "PM" too!!! sounds like great info! :)

Members don't see this ad :)
Okay... so here is the message that I sent out. Hopefully there aren't any inaccuracies in it, let me know if anybody has any questions or comments. I realize that this is pretty basic information, but that is all it was supposed to be.

Do you work in a hospital where the RT's are pretty well respected? I know where I work we teach a class for all the interns when they rotate through pulmonary. That doesn't happen everywhere, though.

I would be more than happy to go over some things, but it really works better if you get with somebody who really knows the machines and theories and can go over it with the machine right in front of you.

A real rough rundown, though, is as follows:

CPAP: This stands for "continuous positive airway pressure". This is a therapy that is adequate for obstructive sleep apnea, acute exacerbation of CHF with some pulmonary edema, etc. It is usually delivered by a face mask and is measured in cmH2O. This is a STRICTLY spontaneous mode: meaning that the patient is not getting ANY ventilatory support. If you have a patient whose ABG shows "normal" acid-base/CO2, but hypoxemia (that is refractory to increased FiO2) then CPAP might be a good place to go.