Other Considering Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bazuka

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
All,

I am pretty sure many of you are in the same boat as me, I graduated 2 years ago, worked for CVS and recently joined a hospital system on the outpatient side. I am trying to transition into inpatient but...

I had a meeting with the inpatient team and they said right of the bat that I will have extremely hard time finding an inpatient job because the there are a lot of candidates with PGY1 also applying.

With that said, I met a residency director 2 months ago and he told me he gets a lot of applicants who are out there practicing but usually cannot make it because there is nothing exciting on their resume

My question for you all, if you have been like me, what did you all do differently especially after school that got you into a program?

I am not looking for anything really competitive. I don’t want to bore them with 2 years of CVS. Thats not relevant. Having just retail on resume will not be attractive for getting a residency. Need to have something solid and nice to be competitive. I didn’t have good grades either.

Thanks for feedback.

Members don't see this ad.

If I were you, i'd try to at least grab a per-diem inpatient position while keeping your current job. If they like you and your work habits, they will most likely transition you to full-time once a position opens up. I've seen this happen. Even with part-timers moving into full-time once a full-time employee leaves, and then transitioning a part-time position to full-time and a per-diem into a part-time position. Of course this was only because these people wanted to get more hours otherwise all this wouldn't be possible.