Considerations of Undergraduate Schools in Application Process

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PATSmedicalFAN

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm wondering how much Med schools look into the rigorousness of our undergraduate schools. I'm asking this because I believe my school (UNC Chapel Hill) is more demanding compared to the average (not trying to sound cocky.) And I'm aware of this because I'm a transfer student. I transferred from a college that wasn't as hard and not biology focused either. (Basically trying to say I could have had a better GPA if I stayed. I chose to leave because I wanted to be in a more challenging environment. I had a 4.0 at my old school and now have 3.7)

I understand that MCAT scores will level the playing field a little bit but the GPA is still a major part of the application.

Members don't see this ad.

From what I understand, UG universities play a very minor role.

Reactions: 1 user
You're not going to get accepted simply because you transferred to a "harder" school, if that's what you're secretly wondering.

Members don't see this ad :)
Coming from a good school is going to get you some positive looks, especially if you do well coming from that school. A 3.7 is good. Just don't let it keep going down

According to the AAMC survey of Adcoms:

ZOKDlg7.png

Source for the screengrab here.

Hopefully this thread doesn't have to devolve into arguments about whether students in one place have it easier/harder than another.

Reactions: 3 users
According to the AAMC survey of Adcoms:

ZOKDlg7.png

Source for the screengrab here.

Hopefully this thread doesn't have to devolve into arguments about whether students in one place have it easier/harder than another.
How dare you, I'll have you know my 5 year old grandmother graduated from a public community college and attended HMS and is now a particle physicist..