Competitive Market - Denver CO or Souther California - Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

helodoc

Membership Revoked
Removed
Reaction score
I'm a soon to be grad of a very reputable midwestern powerhouse EM residency and based on partner's preference am planning on moving to either Southern California (LA area, preferably Santa Monica) or Denver Colorado, and was hoping for advice on getting a good, sustainable job in either. We love the outdoors lifestyle (hiking, climbing and trail running), the food and drink culture, and the general vibe of both places.

I've done a 4 year program, so feel as though a fellowship isn't needed, and I should be a pretty desirable hire coming from such a reputable place. My goal is working in a good group, preferably democratic, but am willing to work for a larger corporation as long as the hourly is $$$ and it's not USACS. Anyway, few faculty members or people where I'm coming from seem to think this is a reasonable goal this year, but I'm set on moving out immediately after residency, and really am set on getting a 'unicorn job', which again, as such a strong hire coming from a 4 year, known program, I feel as though I should be well prepared for. Any help or tips would be appreciated. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I would go anywhere the money is best right now. Be it Kansas.

Members don't see this ad :)
Generally speaking no one cares about the powerhouse nature of your residency.

Reactions: 12 users