Clinical Research or Basic Medical Research?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FutureNeuroStud

Ahhh...vacation
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a student who's currently going through the med school applications process and have been assisting with clinical research for the past year at a neurosurgery practice near my undergrad school. I've done a lot of shadowing in different specialties and am pretty sure that neurosurgery is the field I want to go into. I understand that many people change their minds in medical school, so please don't respond to this post with comments about how I need to keep my mind open when I get to medical school or anything along those lines...I already know that and plan to do so, but have a pretty good feeling that my mind's not gonna change.

So here's my real question:

Should I try to get on board with clinical research or basic medical research in medical school?

I'd assume that neurosurgery residency directors would prefer basic medical research, but I really like clinical research. Thus, I would like to know if the benefits of having basic medical research experience in neuroscience/neurology/neurosurgery would greatly outweigh clinical research experience when it comes time to go through the match. In speaking with the docs at the practice where I work, I have gotten responses in favor of both types of research. Hence, I would appreciate further opinions/advice.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a first-year student; came in (in September) with a million ideas with regard to setting myself up nicely for a shot at neurosurgery. I'm at an upper-level U.S. MD school. Here's what I've found, despite having been at the very top of my class in college: