PhD/PsyD Clinical Psych PhD Programs with Trauma Treatment Centers and/or Certificates

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futureclinicalpsych

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! As a future clinical psychologist, I am hoping to specialize in PTSD treatment. The SDN forums about programs with advisors doing trauma research and the APA Division 56 list of programs have been very helpful. I am curious if you all know of any PhD clinical programs that have trauma treatment centers (and/or child advocacy centers) at their university, or have nearby trauma practicum opportunities. I am also wondering if you might know of any PhD programs that offer certificates in trauma recovery, trauma studies, PTSD treatment, etc. Thank you all for any advice that you may have!

Members don't see this ad.

I would look for programs that offer practica at a VA, either within a PTSD clinic or one that involves PTSD treatment (e.g., MST, post-deployment, sometimes general mental health as well). Some VA sites will let practicum students get certified in CPT.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi everyone! As a future clinical psychologist, I am hoping to specialize in PTSD treatment. The SDN forums about programs with advisors doing trauma research and the APA Division 56 list of programs have been very helpful. I am curious if you all know of any PhD clinical programs that have trauma treatment centers (and/or child advocacy centers) at their university, or have nearby trauma practicum opportunities. I am also wondering if you might know of any PhD programs that offer certificates in trauma recovery, trauma studies, PTSD treatment, etc. Thank you all for any advice that you may have!

UMSL has a trauma treatment center

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)