Clinical Neurophysiology Fellowships-- Mixed vs Single Track

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TNKay

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am a PGY-2 neurology resident, currently trying to figure out the fellowship that would best fit my future goal: a decent lifestyle to be able to focus on family and decent pay. Clinical Neurophysiology seems an attractive choice, however, I am confused between the mixed vs single track (was leaning more towards EEG). What would the CNP pass-outs suggest between mixed vs single track, especially if the goal is to work in academia (especially at the beginning of the career) and maybe later transition to an outpatient community hospital practice? Mixed tracks seem to be very few, mostly reserved for inhouse residents, and unevenly distributed in terms of curriculum (rarely is a fellowship equally distributed between EEG/EMG). Thank you! Would appreciate any piece of advice.

Members don't see this ad.

If you're looking at academia just do epilepsy or neuromuscular, honestly.

Reactions: 1 user
Would you rather be the expert at one technical skill or ok at two of them?

For academia, expert is expected. For private practice, i'd still rather be an expert.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for your reply! Also how do clinical neurophysiology single tracks differ from epilepsy/neuromuscular fellowships? And what is a better choice? CNP or epilepsy/NM fellowship? Will appreciate your response, thanks!

At academic centers and even some big health systems, you could be restricted from doing EEG and/or EMG without a full year dedicated fellowship in one of these. In the community or private practice settings though, there are typically no such restrictions. These fellowships are for general neurologists who want to do a little bit of everything including inpatient and outpatient.