Clinical Experience Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

meliora27

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
How important is having clinical experience in a hospital setting. I've volunteered a little bit in the ER but find it terribly boring. On the other hand, for a year now I've been volunteering a lot at a free clinic that serves the uninsured taking vitals, triaging and starting charts. I'm also an EMT-B and will have EMT experience to show on my application. Will my application be at a disadvantage by not having in-hospital experience?

Members don't see this ad.

You likely have enough meaningful clinical experience. There is no "hard and fast" rule that states an applicant must have "hospital" clinical experience. Just be able to relate some of your experiences when asked either on application or in an interview.

I can't imagine being bored in an ER. Can you find a busier one - maybe one that's part of a medical school? What specifically is boring about it? Nothing to observe?

In my ER volunteering experience I got to watch (and very minimally assist with) all kinds of workups, from stabbings to shootings to heart attacks to suicide attempts to broken bones to burns to overdoses...shall I go on? I had access to an almost infinite and constantly changing supply of residents & attendings who were more than happy to let me follow them around, ask questions, hold body parts still, etc. When we were doing menial stuff like cleaning stretchers and rolling gauze, that was a room full of premeds comparing notes on where we were applying and how we were getting LORs and which ochem series to take. Most fun of my premed career, hands down. So I'm sorry to hear it's been a drag for you.

Members don't see this ad :)
Very much agreed, volunteering in the ED is what you make of it. If all you concentrate on is 'ugh, I hate making beds', you won't get anything out of it other than that.