Clinical paid experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

myfunnyusername

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am a non-traditional student who recently graduated with a Comp Sci degree, working a tech job, and has decided to switch to medicine. I am international, so I am still on my student visa and tied to the jobs related to my major. This makes me sad that I can't work as an EMT / CNA / MA, etc.... how am I supposed to get into medical school if I don't do these things?

I am starting to volunteer in a hospital + in a hospice in the next few weeks to gain some volunteer experience before applying for post-bacc but I am wondering what is (if there is one) a workaround to get clinical experience. I may try to get a part-time job to do research and tie to my major. But in terms of clinical hours, should I find EMS volunteer positions, or phlebotomy volunteer or something like that? Feeling a bit upset that the situation is not in my favor now, and any advice whether just clinical volunteering is okay or what can I do would be great

Members don't see this ad.

Some volunteer positions can be clinical. It depends on what you're doing in the hospital and hospice. Feeding the patients, fetching warm blankets, helping them brush their teeth, wash up, or get dressed--definitely clinical. Restocking the utility room or delivering mail--not so much. If your hospice experience is clinical, I would stay there while you do postbacc. Four hours a week over two years is sufficient.