Choosing Between Two Medical Schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ltl Ducky

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am putting a question out to individuals who have already chosen a school and perhaps started their residencies or are past that.

I am a non-trad pre-med student. I got accepted to a few medical schools and have narrowed my list of possibilities down to two schools based on my experiences and knowledge of the schools: University of Michigan and Ohio State University. I like both of their missions, class schedule, study slot for step 1 study, P/F curriculum, and general environment equally well. Both really impressed me on how involved and happy current students were.

On the other hand University of Michigan has much better match rates/placements and rankings, and I think U of Michigan would have slightly more intensive care/surgical opportunities (both things I believe I may want to go into as a physician). I am confident that I am not interested in primary care as it does not really fit my personality. Also University of Michigan has burn unit and a larger transplant program.

However, U of Michigan will not let students switch to instate residency when Ohio State University will. All in all the tuition for four years is about $196,000 for U of Michigan and $125,000 for Ohio State (~73,000). How much is a bigger name and better match rates worth for someone looking to apply to more competitive residency programs? Is it worth the ~$73,000 more it will cost me?