children during med school/residency

smilez428

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey everyone- i could use some advice for some moms who've "been there, done that"

what do you think about having children during medical school (say 4th year) or residency?

i understand that the time constraints are pretty bad- but are there programs (or specialties in general) out there that are more flexible towards new moms?

thanks everyone :)

Members don't see this ad.

check out MomMD.com

HI there -
I just had a baby this past November - 2 weeks before finals. I am in my second year at KCOM. I did TONS of research before deciding to get pregnant and talked to everyone I could who has done this before. In my opinion, I think I picked the right time. Bottom line - I only need to show up for exams and labs. I don't HAVE to be in class. Also, as far as residency/end of residency goes - your time isn't going to get any FREE-ER. 3rd/4th years - I don't know - your time factor depends on your rotation. However, keep in mind that most schools don't offer an official maternity leave. You'll probably end up getting behind, especially if you have problems during the preganancy (bed rest situations). There are a few people I talked to who took a year off between 3rd and 4th years to have children.

My husband and I decided to go ahead and do this for several reasons - 1)if we go away for residency, I don't want to have the baby so far away from my family 2)not having to go to class frees up quite a bit of time. 3)My husband's income is more than mine will be as a resident - we can afford it now 4)I WAS JUST READY FOR A BABY!