Career change: post bacc or community college for DPT prereqs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cringer

Reaction score
I need all the advice/input I can get on this! I graduated this spring with a B.S. in a social science. I've always thought about becoming a physical therapist, but for a number of reasons, I chose to stick with my major. Now that I'm working in that field, I've realized that I PT is my "calling"--I'm really passionate about it and I could see myself being extremely happy and satisfied with my career if I pursue it.

Here's where I need advice: I have NO prerequisite classes completed (besides statistics and math that are often prereqs for DPT programs). Should I take prereqs at a community college (or online somewhere) while I'm still working full-time? Or start "fresh" in a post bacc program next year? Money is obviously a concern, so what are some good ways of getting financial aid?

Any other tips for this kind of career change are welcome!

Members don't see this ad.

I’m a career changer, and I took mine at community colleges. No problems getting in.

Reactions: 1 user
I did community college after my degree to finish my pre-reqs. I applied as a non-degree seeking student as was able to get most of my finances covered through loans.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm also a career changer. Most of the schools to which I applied did not accept pre-reqs from community colleges, so you should think about where you would like to eventually apply and double check.

I did all my pre-reqs in a community college. I already had a BA degree.