Cardiology vs. OB/GYN

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gophersfan5

Reaction score
Hello! I'm a nurse hoping to go into medical school soon and while I KNOW that I have plenty of time to think about specialties, I wanted to get some opinions and a comparison of two candidates. Two very different candidates. Allow me to explain this odd juxtaposition.

I have thought about becoming a cardiologist for a very long time, as I believe I could empathize with patients who have heart issues & I have had many heart problems myself. I love the mechanics of the heart and as a young girl I would watch educational videos on how the heart works just for fun. However, I wish to have children one day and I know that many cardiologists work long hours + do not get much time with their little ones.

That said... I have an equal interest in obstetrics and gynecology. I grew up with 5 baby cousins-- I adored them all and my soul was filled with joy as I watched the mother baby bond. But I am starting to think that this profession would not be what I originally expected because it is NOT all peaceful and the mothers are obviously in terrible pain... Not to mention the long hours and high risk of being sued.

So there's most of my rant. Basically, I would like to know:

Who has longer hours, a cardiologist or obgyn?

Who gets more burnt out?

Which do you think is more rewarding?

Which would probably have a bit more time to be with kids, if any time?

Lastly, what is the worst part of each?

Thank you for any commentary. I am brand new here on this website. I know I am just a wee amateur in the medical world (registered nurse) and I have lots of respect for all of you.

So yeah. Have a great day.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Shadow them and find out. These specialties are near polar opposite in comfort level and personalities. Ob is definitely more family friendly for a female though than cards.