Canadian License and doing OMFS in the states

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DentistBunaHay

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a Canadian student and I am taking the Canadian boards to get my dental license. I am going to be doing OMFS in the states, is it advisable for me to take the american boards like NERBs or WREBs?

Regardless of the NERBs or WREBs, I will not be able to moonlight during residency because the hospital where I will do my OMFS residency only issues J1 visas, thus I won't be able to do any moonlighting.

Is there any point for me to take NERBs or WREBs or is the Canadian license good enough for residency?

Thanks for any input.

Members don't see this ad.

The real question is whether or not you are a Canadian citizen or permanent resident. If you are a citizen then NAFTA is on you side.

read below and check out the wedsite http://travel.state.gov/visa/temp/types/types_1274.html#2 for more info

Overview
NAFTA is the North American Free Trade Agreement. It creates special economic and trade relationships for the United States, Canada and Mexico. The nonimmigrant NAFTA Professional (TN) visa allows citizens of Canada and Mexico, as NAFTA professionals to work in the United States. Permanent residents, including Canadian permanent residents, are not able to apply to work as a NAFTA professional.
How Can Professionals from Mexico and Canada Work in the United States?
Professionals of Canada or Mexico may work in the U.S. under the following conditions:
  • Applicant is a citizen of Canada or Mexico;
  • Profession is on the NAFTA list;
  • Position in the U.S. requires a NAFTA professional;
  • Mexican or Canadian applicant is to work in a prearranged full-time or part-time job, for a U.S. employer (see documentation required). Self employment is not permitted;