Canadian going to OZ, hoping to stay in Oz or go to US...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dasha55

5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my first time here. I am a Canadian, just graduated, didn't get into Medicine in Ontario this year like many others. I am writting MCat for the first time this August but my GPA is 3.34, so I don"t think I stand a good chance of getting into Ontario anyways. I have applied to 4 Schools in Australia for 2006 entry and have all 4 interviews in the next 3 months (Sydney, Flinder's, Queensland, Adelaide). But reading some of the feedback here make doubt if I am doing the right move of going down under. I hope to either stay in Australia or go to US, not Canada!!! I don't recall in which OZ univeristy prosperus I ve read it, but there is an opportunity for int'l students to stay in OZ and practice Medicine. Can someone confirm that?!
Also, from the feedback I understand, it is a bit tougher to do the USMLE for OZ graduates than say for Carribean. But it is manageable, right?
Last question: I am thinking of applying to US, how do I pick the schools - there are so many!!!
Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

dasha55 said: