UQ (traditional) or Griffith for a Canadian

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

med4evah

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys! As a Canadian applicant, who possibly would like to try coming back for residency, could anyone please recommend why you would choose UQ (traditional) or Griffith. Both schools are in beautiful locations, seem in much chilled out environment. Their curriculum also sounds good but quite different from each other, I am not sure if I can comment or evaluate on curriculum as I have no experience as to what is better teaching/assessment style lol :)! Rn, I have tug between these two as:

1. Griffith is much cheaper university (so will be forgiving on the LoC and loans payback hopefully)​
  2. But I have heard that comparing elective placements at home, Griffith offers 1 but UQ offers ~4 (please do correct me if I am wrong). The more electives away may be helpful in strengthening the CaRMS application(?)​
  3. Also, UQ has better research opportunities (to help CV, especially for Canadian schools that looove research stuff), and has higher rank internationally so more recognized. They even have USMLE courses as electives embedded in their program (in case I may want to try my luck at USA). But then you hear their student support is not that great, and the biiiiig cohort size can be a negative.. etc .​
If you were given an option between Griffith and UQ, would you pick UQ (would most people if you know have)? Will going to Griffith put you at a disadvantage in coming back compared to someone who went to UQ, or even Sydney and Melbourne (due to High in rank, research, electives) ?

Any guidance, your personal experience, would be much appreciated! Thank you <3 <3

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user