Can I get into med school without shadowing?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ClementineWoolysocks

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am going into my third year, and my adviser wants me to take the MCAT in the spring and apply to med schools as soon as my score comes in. I have not had much time for shadowing, because I have been trying to balance work, school, and the military. I have very little volunteering experience, but I just started volunteering at an emergency department where I plan to do 8 hours a week until I graduate. I am a medic in the Army Reserves, and I have been on two humanitarian missions (one to help out at a clinic on a Native American Reservation and the other was to help build schools and provide medical help to those in need in El Salvador- both 2 weeks long). I have a gpa of 3.77 and a science gpa of 3.6. I also just recently got a job at a hospital as a Patient Registration Representative, and I am definitely going to try to shadow the chief of medicine there. I just would like to know what my chances would be if I am unsuccessful at shadowing.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm sure it's possible, but why not ask one of the doctors at the ED if you could tag along for a day or two, just to see what its like/have shadowing on your app?

Members don't see this ad :)
Possible? Certainly. Unlikely? Absolutely. Definitely try to shadow by the time you submit your application.

Yeah, you need to shadow a physician. Sure the healthcare experience is there but adcom is going to wonder and ask, "okay so I see that you've done work as a medic, why do you want to become a physician?"

It would be easier to pull a genuine response for this question if you've literally followed behind a doc for maybe half a shift or so and truly understood what they do after you've brought them the pt.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users