MSW Can all Clinical Social Workers diagnose?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

InfoNerd101

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I read that clinical social workers being able to diagnose mental illness is a thing unique to the United States, and that in most other places, diagnostics are left to psychologists and psychiatrists. Is this true? They are unable to do so elsewhere?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
States. Though if they do have privileges to diagnose I don't know if I would want a LCSW to. I'd rather prefer to have a Clinical Psychologist diagnose and maybe a LCSW do therapy

It's likely going to depend on individual state law, but as far as I know, in every state in which I've worked, LCSW's can diagnose mental health conditions. It's mostly just a matter of training and level of competence (e.g., even as a psychologist, I'd be hesitant to diagnose something like an autism-spectrum disorder because it's simply not my area of expertise).

Reactions: 2 users
True, probably varies by state. I also want to point out what might seem obvious to those in the field but maybe not to everyone: not every social worker is an LCSW. You can't diagnose right out of your masters program. You have to have, depending on the state, ~2000 hours of supervised direct clinical work before you can sit for the LCSW exam and become licensed.

Reactions: 2 users