Navy California licensure by residency - Navy GPR/AEGD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xsynaesthesianx

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Greetings!

I'm on the 4 year Navy HPSP scholarship. I will be graduating from NYUCD in 2015. Does anyone know if CODA approves any Navy GPR or AEGD residencies for "licensure by residency?" Or if the 4 years of clinical experience working as a Navy Dentist are sufficient for California licensure?

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

So you would have to go through a formal program, correct? Wouldn't that increase your obligation?

Is there a program/tour that you can complete for accreditation without adding time to your obligation? I have heard mixed things...

Since I have no past military experience, I am cautious about adding to my obligation.

Thanks!!

Navy HPSP Class of 2017

Members don't see this ad :)
All the programs are fully accredited just like any civilian GPR/AEGD.

So you would have to go through a formal program, correct? Wouldn't that increase your obligation?
Is there a program/tour that you can complete for accreditation without adding time to your obligation? I have heard mixed things...

Since I have no past military experience, I am cautious about adding to my obligation.

Thanks!!

Navy HPSP Class of 2017

Thanks!!

Navy HPSP Class of 2017

My understanding is that the year you do for GPR/AEGD would count as a "neutral year", meaning it would neither add nor subtract from the total amount of years you'd have to serve for HPSP.

If you are a 4 year recipient, and you decide to do a 1 year GPR/AEGD, you'd do the 1 year GPR/AEGD, but then you would still have to work the 4 years to payback HPSP scholarship. Thus, you'd be in for 5 years.

That is correct. One neutral year and then 4 years after that.