CA Resident 3.52 cGPA... Possible to stay in CA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kautionwirez

Hadoken!
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a CA resident, graduated from a UC last year and now working full time in a research lab. I have a cGPA 3.52, sGPA 3.58. I had an upward trend but slumped down in senior year, due to personal losses I intend to state in my PS.

FR: 3.1
SO: 3.6 (~3.9 counting SO yr only)
JR: 3.7 (3.8 counting JR only)
SR. 3.5 (3.4 counting SR only)

I also had 3 withdrawals on my transcript because I couldn't handle my busy schedule with sports, research, and other classes.
I have a heavy research background:

1 year clinical research volunteer
6m research on diabetes, presentation
3 years translational science, abstract, currently publishing, AHA conference presentation
1 year fulltime biochemistry research, will be publishing 3+ papers
3.5 years in sports team
summer internship at Genentech
shadowed a pathologist
currently shadowing/observing CT surgeries
1.5 years volunteered in ER

I took my MCAT on 5/21 so I will not know my score until then. I am hoping for a 30+ but my averages were 27 on practices (because of low VR)... :(

I have made a broad list and am considering applying to 4 Caribbean schools as well.

University of Southern California
Loma Linda University
Stanford University
University of California, Davis
University of California, Irvine
University of California, Los Angeles
University of California, San Diego
University of California, San Francisco
George Washington University
Georgetown University
Howard University
Morehouse School of Medicine
Rosalind Franklin University
Loyola University Chicago
Rush Medical College
University of Chicago
University of Illinois
Tulane University
Uniformed Services University
University of Maryland
Boston University
Tufts University
Dartmouth College
Albany Medical College