"Business Class" vs. "Retail Class" tablets/laptops?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JSpitz

Illinois CVM c/o 2015
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I would have posted this in the "Tech" subforum, but its way too quiet there.

So, at the Illinois student store, the sales guy tells me that they sell the business class HP laptops, which uses components that are more robust and long lasting than retail class (the ones you buy at the store...i forgot to ask if hp.com is retail class too).

Is the "more robust and long lasting" statement true? I have some knowledge of computers (as in I know how to buy and upgrade my RAM/hard drive/video card :laugh::laugh:) and this sounds suspicious to me. I shop for PC components from newegg, tigerdirect, frys, and what have you, and they never have components (or whole laptops) labeled business or retail class. Unless PC components sold as individual products are all considered business class.

I think I need to make some IT friends.

Members don't see this ad.

I have never heard of business class vs. retail class. I don't know much about computers, though.

I technically own a business class Lenovo b/c I was using a friend's employee discount and it was good for this particular product. I heard good things about it, but my computer has been less than robust. It is still under warranty so I should send it in... but I hate dealing with tech support. They speak terrible English and make me feel stupid when I don't understand everything :(. The laptop has great features though... so I may actually end up with a similar one in vet school!

ETA: Re-reading this post it sounds ridiculous that I may purchase a similar laptop in the future when this one gives me so many issues. The reason? All technology hates me. The garage door sticks halfway down, the netflix won't connect to our TV, and the wireless internet go down when I come home. Coincidence? I think not!