Burnt out and not retaining

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chickensoupdr

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I started ICU as my first rotation, and I am already feeling burnt out. I feel like I am managing my patients fairly well, haven't had much issue with fellows/attendings. But I don't feel like I am learning much or retaining anything although I'm spending my life in the ICU. Anyone ever felt the same way? How do I get over this stump? What are some good resources/recommendations?

Members don't see this ad.

Felt the same way while I was an intern but you are learning in ways you haven’t realized. Just keep doing what you are doing

Reactions: 2 users
ICU as a first rotation would be pretty rough. As a first month intern the general feeling is already lost/hopeless and compound that with critically ill patients and a huge amount of things to remember to keep track of it is understandable that you feel this way. Doesn't seem like you're learning anything as you feel you're barely keeping your head above water. But remember, IT'S NORMAL. Believe it or not, you're learning but you're just not feeling that way right now.

Reactions: 1 user
Wow, I am surprised that any program would put intern in his first month to do rotation in ICU. In my opinion its just bad organization as you need to learn how to manage basic staff first before you jump into deep water, unless You have senior / fellow/ attending always checking every order , and really experience nurses. My program starts interns in ICU after 6 months with senior and no fellows and attendings mostly rely on senior to make sure everything is done correctly.